News and Sports

Hundreds of students, faculty, staff, trustees, and friends celebrated the formal induction of Dr. Steven R. Timmermans as Trinity's seventh president in the Ozinga Chapel Saturday, October 4. The inaugural activities were the highlight of a weekend at the College that included The Gathering and the first board meeting of the academic year.

Kevin Walker '06 (student association president), Jackie Medenblik '82 (staff council president), English professor Dan Diephouse (faculty), Bruce DeSmith '81 (alumni board president), and Dr. Tony Diekema (past president) represented members of the Trinity community and gave a charge to Dr. Timmermans. In his address to the audience, he pledged to continue the College's pursuit of academic excellence through engagement.

"I'm privileged to lead Trinity at this point in its history," he said. "The challenge of engaging a world advancing progressively backwards is before us. We will meet the challenge by developing, refining, and situating educational programs in ways consistent with our mission and rooting our identity in Christ."

Five of Trinity's six previous presidents were on hand to witness Dr. Timmermans accept the medallion that symbolizes the office of president. After the inauguration ended, the guests enjoyed an afternoon picnic on the Commons. Some also attended a series of lectures sponsored by the College in the Fireside Chapel and Heritage Science Center.

Click here to read Dr. Timmermans' inagural address.

back to news & events