News and Sports

Trinity Christian College honored its 2002 graduating class with commencement ceremonies on Saturday, May 18, in the Martin and Janet Ozinga Chapel. The College conferred bachelor's degrees to 125 students; TRACS, the adult degree completion program, presented degrees and teaching certificates to 27 graduates.

Don De Graff, president of the village of South Holland, Ill., gave the commencement address, titled "The Simple Truth." He presented diplomas to two of his sons during both the traditional and TRACS ceremonies.
Trinity President AJ Anglin and Provost Elizabeth Rudenga greeted the graduates as they crossed the stage to accept their diplomas. The College bestowed 93 bachelors of arts degrees, 17 bachelors of science, and 15 bachelors of science in nursing.  The TRACS program celebrated five bachelors of arts graduates, 13 bachelors of science graduates, and nine graduates who received their teaching certificates.

Alumni Association President Chris Klein '98 addressed the graduates and presented each one with a copy of the Trinity alumni devotional. The class of 2002 also received a Trinity medallion as a gift from the alumni association. 

Other special guests on the dais included Rev. James Stastny, father of Anna Marie Stastny, Gaithersburg, Maryland, who gave the invocation, and Jack Van Namen, father of Jacob Van Namen, Oak Brook, Ill., who provided the closing benediction. 

The 12-voice Honors Ensemble performed two anthems during the program, while the Brass Ensemble, led by Dr. Ken Austin, played the processional and recessional. Student Association President Aaron Knoll, Holland, Mich., led the commencement litany. 

The College chose a select group of students from the class of 2003 to serve as marshals and ushers for commencement. The marshals were: Jason Martin, Narvon, Penn.; Joel Poortenga, Abbotsford, BC, Canada; Abbi Van Voorst, Rock Valley, Iowa; and Valerie Wories, Lansing, Ill. The ushers were: Luke Darling, Oak Forest, Ill.; Kenneth Dryfhout, Oak Lawn, Ill.; Emily Groenenboom, Oskaloosa, Iowa; Lisa Kiekintveld, Holland, Mich.; Nicholas Lamme, Joliet, Ill.; Micah Popma, Lynnville, Iowa; Laura Post, Aurora, Ill.; Lydia Poston, Houston, Texas; Dan Prince, Alsip, Ill.; Jason Smit, Lombard, Ill.; Erin Strauch, Downers Grove, Ill.; and Jessica VanEe, Pella, Iowa

back to news & events