News and Sports
Professor Chosen For Faculty/Industry Seminar 

Dr. Annalee Ward, Associate Professor of Communication Arts at Trinity Christian College, was a member of the winning team which received the Stephen H. Coltrin Award for Excellence in Communications Education at the International Radio and Television Society Foundation's 31st Annual Faculty/Industry Seminar.  Mark Morris, a Senior Associate at Coltrin & Associates, presented a $2,500 check to the team with the best presentation in the annual case study competition.

"We applaud educators like Dr. Ward who are committed to keeping their teaching timely in an effort to prepare tomorrow's communicators for the challenges they will face," said IRTS Foundation President Joyce M. Tudryn.

The award is made possible by the generosity of Stephen H. Coltrin, a Director on the IRTS Foundation Board and Chairman of Coltrin & Associates, a full-service company specializing in strategic public relations and marketing communications.

This year's case, "The Future of Broadcast Television Networks," was written by Dr. Paul Gullifor, Associate Professor of Communications at Bradley University. Professors were split into teams representing one of five major networks (ABC, CBS, NBC, FOX, WB).

Professors are selected to attend the conference through a competitive application process.  The program is underwritten by the fund-raising efforts of the Foundation.  Continuing their rich history of providing communication faculty with the opportunity to hear the latest news about the media industry from the newsmakers and providers themselves, IRTS assembled an unparalleled line-up of professionals for this program.  Panelists included reporters who covered 9/11 and news management executives, not to mention corporate leaders and analysts, who provided a comprehensive overview of the industry-at-large.

Front row: Jeffrey Guterman, University of Pittsburgh, Bradford; Paul Shaffer, Rogers State University; 
Vic Costello, Elon University; Peggy Finucane, John Carroll University; Alison Schafer, American University;
Lourdes Melendez-Morales, Colegio Universitario del Este; Joe Blaney, Illinois State University.

Back row: James Walker, St. Xavier University; Annalee Ward, Trinity Christian College; Mark Morris, 
Senior Associate, Coltrin & Associates; TomCooper, Emerson College; David Nelson, Rogers State University; 
Stuart Minnis, Virginia Wesleyan College; Ken Fischer, Southern Illinois University, Carbondale.

back to news & events