News Release


Two new students have been named recipients of the prestigious Trinity Christian College Founders’ Scholarship. Bethany Verhage of Moses Lake, Washington, and Joseph “J.R.” Wydra of Tinley Park, Illinois, both accepted the scholarship with gratitude and excitement.

Founders' Scholarships are renewable, four-year, full-tuition awards given to two freshmen each year. Applicants must demonstrate leadership in church, school, or community; believe in Jesus Christ as Lord and Savior; have at least a 3.8 grade point average, or rank in the top five percent of their class; and have a 30 ACT or 1320 SAT 1 score.

“I’m ecstatic,” Wydra said. “It is truly a blessing. I was numb at first and didn’t know what to say.”

Wydra is a senior at Victor J. Andrew High School in Tinley Park, Illinois. He is active in his theater group and a member of the National Honor Society. He plans to major in both computer science and theology.

“After several visits to the College, I knew Trinity was the place I’d call home,” he said.

The Wydra family, J.R.’s parents Joe and Kim, and his one sibling, Matt, attend Calvary Church in Orland Park, Illinois.

Verhage attends Moses Lake Senior High School in Moses Lake, Washington. She was twice awarded Most Valuable Player on her basketball team and played volleyball at the varsity level all four years of high school. She plans to go into medicine and possibly major in chemistry or biology.

“I didn’t expect to get the scholarship,” Verhage said. “There were 35 contenders. I thought I would just apply for the scholarship and see what happens.”

Verhage became familiar with Trinity through her parents. Both of them are alumni. She is the daughter of Larry Verhage ’86 and Julie Hoffman Verhage ’88.

“They loved their time at Trinity,” she said. “Now I can’t wait to start my classes. I really like the atmosphere at the College.”

Bethany has a brother, Jacob, and six sisters, Rebecca, Melissa, Rachel, Naomi, Tabitha, and Julie. The family attends Moses Lake Christian Missionary Alliance Church.

The Founders’ Scholarship was instituted in 1997. Last year’s awards went to Jon VanderWoude ’10 of Miami, Florida, and Cassie VandeKamp ’10 of Manchester, Missouri.

Trinity Homepage | News & Events